Let’s Go to the Food Park

Anyone who knows me well knows that I refuse to eat the workings of Chef Mic.  If you eat out at chain restaurants, you already know him well.  Rather than stick to the more traditional scratch kitchen, places around the world choose to pre-make and ship their meals.  Order some garlic mashed potatoes? They may be tasty, but they’ll be reheated in a (mic)-rowave or boiled in bags.  If you like the taste, good for you, but it’s certainly not for me.  Needless to say, when I go out to eat, I always go where I know for sure that blood, sweat and tears is poured directly into the food I am eating today.  To take it a step further, I strongly believe in providing patronage to the local businesses.  As a business owner myself, I believe in supporting my community.

It’s 7 pm on Saturday when my wife and I arrive at the food park. For those of you who don’t know, local food trucks are a great way to taste the local culture. The prices are usually affordable, and you usually end up with delicious c0ncoctions, made from scratch. There are 5 food trucks here. The first one we walked up on was Pietro’s Italian Bistro. Their hand etched menu not only provided a nice asthetic value, but also showed to me that the owner took pride in his work.  On the menu was: Chicken Fettuccini, Chicken Panini, Chicken Parmesan, Steak Sandwich and Mediterranean Salad. I chose the Chicken Panini with Mozzarella cheese, tomatoes, mixed greens, mayo and a béchamel sauce served with fries. A lot of food for $10 and well worth the price.

 

The owner, Thomas Horta, was very accommodating and friendly. He’s been cooking for 30 years and been in the food truck business for 5 of those 30 years. He owns 5 trucks and has built and wrapped all of them. He even has a 6th one in the works. He owns 3 Holy Frijole Bistro trucks, Pietro’s Italian Bistro truck, and a Crazy Burger truck. His prices are reasonable and the food is off the chain.

 

According to Matthew Babcock, the manager of the food park (fwfoodpark.com), new lines of trucks come up every day.  He explained to me that the park is dog friendly. So, if you’re looking for a place to go and have a bite to eat and want to bring your dog with you, this is the place to go.

Starting in March on Saturdays there will be live bands and if you want to have a drink while you are there, stop by their bar and have a mixed drink or a beer. The park has a good vibe and the people there are friendly too.  So, my Fort Worth friends, get out, enjoy some great food at a reasonable price, and support your local community. I’d definitely give this place the Hangry Ginger stamp of approval.

 

They’re open Fridays, Saturdays from 11 am till 10 pm and Sundays from 11 am till 8 pm.  Their address is 2509 Weisenberger St. Fort Worth, TX 76107.

 

There were 4 other trucks there. They all seem to be busy and having fun selling their food. It was a great time and I will be back to check out the food once again.

 

The Hangry Ginger

Leave a Reply

